Assam NEET UG Medical Admission Process
DME Assam conducts centralised online counselling for Assam state-quota MBBS and BDS seats in Government medical and dental colleges.
Counselling Authority
DME Assam
State Quota
85% UG state quota (DME notice dated 28 August 2025)
Reference MBBS intake / colleges
DME sources conflict: 1,600 listed in current allotment artifact; 1,500 on general course page / 13 MBBS / 3 BDS institutes in current allotment artifact; DME general course page lists 14 MBBS names
Overview
DME Assam conducts centralised online counselling for Assam state-quota MBBS and BDS seats in Government medical and dental colleges.
Counselling Authority & Official Portal
Authority Name
Directorate of Medical Education (DME), Assam
Official Website
https://dme.assam.gov.inCounselling Portal
https://dme.assam.gov.inHelpline
0361-2130256
Current source documents
Controlling official notice index for current registration, allotment, reporting and schedule updates.
Official general course page reviewed 9 March 2026; it states 1,500 MBBS seats and 176 BDS seats. This conflicts with the current allotment artifact listing 1,600 MBBS seats, so neither figure is treated as regulator-approved intake.
Official directory reviewed 10 September 2026; exact source-label mappings refreshed 14 public MBBS college website links and corrected the Assam Medical College district to Dibrugarh.
Official college page states the 2025-26 MBBS year-wise amounts; published fee rows preserve the stated total and separately stated hostel amount.
Official college page publishes exact MBBS year-wise amounts but does not state an academic session; the portal leaves the fee record undated.
Official college page publishes admission and annual fee amounts but says the annual fee may change and hostel mess dues are variable; the portal preserves those caveats.
Official college page states 2024-25 A+B and hostel-boarder totals; the portal preserves the stated one-time totals and separately stated hostel component.
Official undergraduate fee sheet states hostel and non-hostel totals; it does not state an academic session, so the portal leaves the rows undated.
Official undergraduate sheet states year-wise amounts and hostel mess dues but does not state an academic session or mess charging period.
Official college rules state mandatory hostel boarding and three months of advance mess dues; they do not state hostel capacity or fees.
Official hospital page publishes rates for ECG, EEG, echocardiography and spirometry; these are hospital service rates, not campus-amenity claims.
Official hospital page publishes general-ward and paying-cabin rental rates; charging period and admission-fee scope are not inferred.
Official hospital page publishes advance-payment amounts for listed cabin types; these are not college hostel or tuition fees.
Dated 5 September 2026; current Round 2 registration, choices, locking, result and reporting dates.
Candidate-level official source used for 102 verified 2026-27 state-quota AIR cutoffs; revised state ranks and category-conversion rows are not substituted or inferred.
Official provisional selection list used for 15 verified 2024-25 BDS AIR groups; 102 rows marked NA remain held and Assam state rank is not used as AIR.
Official 2026 process and eligibility notice; the amended admission rules and current DME notices control.
Official seat-allotment information surface; the current notice and source matrix control course and seat values.
Current official page artifact listing 1,600 MBBS and 176 BDS institute-wise seats. Listed distribution only; not live vacancies or regulator-approved intake.
Current official BDS distribution artifact listing Regional Dental College 50, Dibrugarh 63 and Silchar 63 seats. Listed distribution only; not live vacancies.
Official DME service rule page: after MBBS, one year compulsory rural service or five years of state health service. Confirm the current admission documents for operative terms.
Dated 28 August 2025; states the 85% UG state-quota context and lists OBC/MOBC 27%, SC 7%, ST Plains 10%, ST Hills 5% and EWS 6%. Verify any superseding 2026 notice.
Official rules document surface; current prospectus/notice controls eligibility, reservation, documents, fees and reporting.
Eligibility Criteria
Summary
NEET UG 2026 qualification and the Assam MBBS/BDS admission rules amended up to 2026 govern eligibility. Read the current DME Assam notice and applicable annexures before applying.
Domicile Rule
Confirm Assam residency, schooling, category and document requirements from the current DME Assam prospectus and admission notice; the authority notice controls the operative rule.
Reservation & Category Quota
| Category | Reservation | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Unreserved (UR) | Rule-specific | Open General Merit; verify the current Assam admission rules. |
| OBC / MOBC (NCL) | 27% | Official DME Assam reservation-policy notice dated 28 August 2025; verify any superseding 2026 notice. |
| ST (Plains) | 10% | Official DME Assam reservation-policy notice dated 28 August 2025; verify any superseding 2026 notice. |
| ST (Hills) | 5% | Official DME Assam reservation-policy notice dated 28 August 2025; verify any superseding 2026 notice. |
| SC | 7% | Official DME Assam reservation-policy notice dated 28 August 2025; verify any superseding 2026 notice. |
| EWS | 6% | Official DME Assam reservation-policy notice dated 28 August 2025; verify any superseding 2026 notice. |
| Tea Garden Community | Special Quota | Reserved seats for Morans, Mataks, and Tea Garden workers |
Step-by-Step Counselling Process
Online Registration & Form Submission
Register on dme.assam.gov.in and submit academic and category information.
State Merit List Publication
DME Assam releases the State Merit List with assigned State Ranks.
Online Choice Filling & Locking
Fill choices of medical colleges in Assam and lock options.
Seat Allotment Result
Round-wise allotment list published on official DME website.
Physical Reporting & Admission
Report to allotted medical college with original documents and complete admission.
Important Dates
| Event | Official date status |
|---|---|
| Round 2 online registration | 6–7 September 2026, until 11:55 PM |
| Round 2 online choice filling | 8–9 September 2026, until 10:00 PM |
| Round 2 choice locking | 9 September 2026, 5:00 PM–11:59 PM |
| Round 2 seat-allotment processing | 10–11 September 2026 |
| Round 2 result | 11 September 2026 |
| Round 2 reporting / joining | 17–18 September 2026, during office hours |
Key Points to Remember
- DME Assam current allotment material lists 1,600 MBBS seats across 13 institutes and 176 BDS seats across 3 institutes, while its general course page states 1,500 MBBS and 176 BDS seats; the official MBBS discrepancy is flagged for reconciliation and neither figure is treated as regulator-approved intake or live vacancies
- The official DME website directory now supplies the verified website link for each of its 14 listed MBBS colleges; website links are directory evidence only and do not establish fees, facilities, intake or vacancies
- Official fee pages and sheets now provide 22 source-backed MBBS fee rows across six Assam colleges; Silchar and Nalbari are labelled by session, while the other four remain undated where the official source does not state a session
- Dhubri's official MBBS student rules state mandatory hostel boarding, three months of advance mess dues and mandatory mess dues for boarders; no hostel capacity or fee is inferred
- Official hospital pages now publish 10 exact service/rate entries for Diphu and Tezpur; they are shown as hospital rates and are not treated as campus facilities, hostel charges or tuition
- The 2024-25 Special Round BDS source adds 15 verified AIR/category groups for the three government dental colleges; rows without an allotted college remain held
- After MBBS, DME Assam states that candidates must complete one year of compulsory rural service or five years of state health service; confirm current admission documents for operative terms
- Special sub-quotas for Tea Garden communities, Morans, Mataks, and sports achievers
- Top colleges: Gauhati Medical College Guwahati (GMCH), Assam Medical College Dibrugarh (AMCH), Silchar Medical College (SMCH)
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the official website for Assam NEET counselling?
The official portal is dme.assam.gov.in.
What service requirement does DME Assam publish after MBBS?
DME Assam states that after MBBS, all candidates must complete one year of compulsory rural service or five years of state health service. Confirm the current admission documents for the operative terms.
Explore Assam Medical Colleges
View complete list of MBBS and BDS colleges in Assam with seat matrix, fee structure, and cutoff ranks
Official Source
Authority
DME Assam
Website
https://dme.assam.gov.inQuick Stats
- State Quota
- 85% UG state quota (DME notice dated 28 August 2025)
- Reference MBBS intake
- DME sources conflict: 1,600 listed in current allotment artifact; 1,500 on general course page
- Medical Colleges
- 13 MBBS / 3 BDS institutes in current allotment artifact; DME general course page lists 14 MBBS names
- Courses
- 2
Reference values are not live vacancy totals. Confirm current rules, seat scope, and any source-specific figures with the official authority.